Press Release on the Population Development of the Arnstorf Community

The population figures of the statistical evaluation of 31 December 2000 for the Bavarian communities, Rottal-Inn County, show population of 6,492 for the Arnstorf community. But what did this development look like in the past? I.e. what was the population development like during the past 100 years, or even during the past 10 years?
These questions are answered by the documents maintained at the County Council Office. According to the population figure updates, 1,414 residents had registered their principal place of residence in Arnstorf as of December 31st, 1900. Things progressed steadily from there. In 1939, a total of 1,696 permanent residents were counted. After that entry, the records show a gap lasting until December 31st, 1946. At that point, the statistical data indicate a population of 2,611. This major population surge by 915 persons, or 53.95%, is mostly due to the fact that many displaced persons and refugees found a new home on Arnstorf after the war. The next major surge was brought about by the local government reform in 1972 when the communities of Jägerndorf, Hainberg, Mitterhausen and Ruppertskirchen as well as parts of Unterhöft were joined to the Arnstorf community. As of December 31st, 1972, the records show a population of 4,701, equalling an 80.95% increase. After that, figures remained static and even retrograded by approx. 130 residents until 1978.
By May 1st, 1978, the local government reform was complete. At that time, the communities of Mariakirchen, Sattlern and Kohlsdorf had also joined. For that reason, the statistical data for December 31st, 1978, indicate a total of 5,315 residents for the Arnstorf community area, which had by that time increased to a total surface of 80 square kilometres. This figure corresponds to an increase by 736 residents over 1977’s figure, or in other words, another increase of 16.07 points. From that point onward, things have been going steeply uphill. According to the “1987 Census”, an actual value of 5,575 was recorded on June 30th, 1988.
Now let’s have a look at the past ten years. As of December 31st, 1990, the number of people with their main residence in the community area had risen to 5,842. The magical barrier of 6,000 was finally broken by December 31st, 1992, when the population had risen to 6,006. The population currently registered today is 6,492 (as of December 31st, 2000). Comparison of this figure with the figure of 10 years ago indicates a population increase by 650 residents, or 11.13 per cent. According to the figures of the County Council Office, the actual number of residents as of October 11th, 2001 was 6,565.This continuous population increase infers a number of conclusions. The main reasons for this development is the continuous provision of developed sites for building and the ensuing increase of residential buildings, as well as the outstanding economic development and the ensuing job opportunities, combined with the general trend towards living in rural areas.
As of June 30th, 2007, the Arnstorf community has a total of 6,634 residents.

Pressebericht zur Einwohnerentwicklung im Markt Arnstorf

Der Bevölkerungsstand aus der Statistik der Gemeinden Bayerns am 31.12.2000 für den Kreis Rottal-Inn weist für den Markt Arnstorf 6.492 Einwohner aus. Wie sah das in der Vergangenheit aus? Wie war z. B. die Einwohnerentwicklung in den letzten hundert Jahren oder wie entwickelte es sich in den letzten zehn Jahren?

Unterlagen aus dem Einwohnermeldeamt geben darüber Aufschluss. Aus der Einwohnerfortschreibung geht hervor, dass am 31.12.1900 1.414 Einwohner mit Hauptwohnung in Arnstorf gemeldet waren. Es ging dann stetig bergauf. 1939 wurden 1.696 Personen gezählt. Dann gibt es eine Lücke bis zum 31.12.1946. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt berichtet die Statistik von 2.611 Einwohnern. Dieser gewaltige Sprung nach vorne von 915 Personen oder 53,95 % ist zum größten Teil darin begründet, dass in Arnstorf nach dem Krieg viele Vertriebene und Flüchtlinge eine neue Heimat fanden. Den nächsten großen Schub bewirkte die Gebietsreform 1972, bei der die Gemeinden Jägerndorf, Hainberg, Mitterhausen und Ruppertskirchen sowie Teile von Unterhöft zum Markt Arnstorf kamen. Am 31.12.1972 zählte man 4.701 Einwohner. Dies wiederum entsprach einer Steigerung um 80,95 %. Danach stagnierten die Zahlen und gingen sogar bis 1978 um ca. 130 Einwohner zurück.

Am 01.05.1978 wurde die Gebietsreform abgeschlossen. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt kamen die Gemeinden Mariakirchen mit Sattlern und Kohlstorf dazu. Deshalb wies die Statistik am 31.12.1978 nun 5.315 Einwohner für das nunmehr ca. 80 km2 große Gemeindegebiet des Marktes Arnstorf aus. Es waren gegenüber 1977 736 mehr Einwohner oder anders gesagt nochmals eine prozentuale Erhöhung von 16,07 Punkten. Es ging von nun an nur noch bergauf. Auf Grund der "Volkszählung 1987" wurde am 30.06.1988 ein Wert von 5.575 tatsächlich ermittelt.

Nun betrachten wir die letzten zehn Jahre. Die Einwohnerzahl am 31.12.1990 betrug nun schon 5.842 Personen mit Hauptwohnung im Gemeindegebiet. Die magische Grenze 6.000 konnte am 31.12.1992 mit 6.006 Personen überschritten werden. Heute, d. h. derzeit bekannte statistische Einwohnerzahl ist 6.492 (31.12.2000). Wenn man diese Zahl mit der vor zehn Jahren vergleicht, kommt man auf eine Mehrung von genau 650 Einwohnern oder in Prozenten 11,13. Die wirkliche Zahl laut Einwohnermeldeamt liegt am 11.10.2001 bei 6.565 Personen. Aus der kontinuierlichen Steigerung lassen sich verschiedene Rückschlüsse ziehen. Die wesentlichen Gründe sind die stetige Bereitstellung von Bauland und die daraus entstandenen Wohngebäude sowie die sehr gute wirtschaftliche Entwicklung mit den daraus entstandenen Arbeitsmöglichkeiten und der allgemeinen Attraktivität, im ländlichen Bereich zu wohnen.

Zum 31.12.2009 hat der Markt Arnstorf 6585 Einwohner.